What Are Chakra Colors — And What Do They Mean For You? –

Chakras. You’ve probably heard of them — but it’s very possible that they make zero sense to you.

Well, you’re not alone; the first time I heard about chakras, I was admittedly a bit stumped. We, humans, are generally of the opinion that if you can’t see it, it doesn’t exist.

This way of thinking extends to a range of topics, including (but not at all limited to) global poverty, hidden calories, karma and… chakras.

For the uninitiated, “chakra” means “wheel” or “disc” in Sanskrit. It is used to refer to wheels of energy in our bodies. Each chakra (of which there are seven) corresponds to a different nerve center, and it’s believed that each chakra affects different aspects of our wellbeing, health, and spirituality.


1. Red: The Root Chakra

This first chakra is thought to be the densest of all, hence why its color is the one representing passion, fire — and danger. Your root chakra is the color of life force and is the most powerful, impactful chakra. Red is linked to the adrenal glands, which control the instinctual “fight or flight” response.

Those who are drawn to red enjoy being present in their physical bodies. They are often ambitious, outgoing and, yes, fiery! This can manifest as either passion and wild love, or anger and frustration; it depends on the individual experiences of each person

2. Orange: The Sacral Chakra

This next chakra is located below the naval and controls creativity and expression. You may have heard that orange is the color of creativity — and this is likely where that came from!

I have several friends whose favorite color is orange, and they are all highly creative and expressive in their own ways. In fact, in this article, we feature a lot of orange in our beautiful offices, particularly in our designers’ area. Smart, no?!

As the sacral chakra is located in the belly, it’s the chakra which also relates to our gut feelings and intuition. If you’re drawn to orange or like to surround yourself with the color, you can expect to feel more optimism, joy, liveliness, and imagination. It is also the color of autumn and reminds us that we need to let some things go to start anew.

3. Yellow: The Solar Plexus Chakra

If you’re anything like me (or most people), you’ll relate the color yellow to the sun. After all, that great big ball in the sky sure is hard to miss! In terms of chakras, yellow corresponds to your solar plexus chakra and controls the intellect. Those drawn to yellow are partial to intellectual challenges.

On top of this, yellow represents mental courage, self-determination, and strength. If you feel pulled toward yellow, it may signify a certain level of self-assuredness and self-esteem, as well as warmth in personality.

At this point, you’re probably finding that your natural feelings about specific colors make sense: red for passion, orange for creativity, yellow for sunniness. Whenever I hear about complex or relatively unknown concepts such as chakras, I always try to bring it back to a base level which makes sense to me — and these colors and their meanings certainly do.


4. Green: The Heart Chakra

With that said, it may seem counterintuitive that the heart chakra is represented by the color green. Stay with me here. Green is related to wellbeing; the whole green movement seems to express that. Green is the color of nature, the color of the earth, our core, our foundation… so when you think of it that way, it starts to make sense.

This chakra relates to the heart, lungs, chest — basically, our core functioning areas. If you have a strong, open heart chakra, you stand tall, radiate positive energy and also attract love into your life.

Green is known as an expansive color, so if you are drawn to it or if you surround yourself with it, you’ll experience a sense of calm, acceptance and open-mindedness. It’s also a good sign for your relationships — tuning in to your heart chakra allows you to be more willing to enter into new partnerships, whether it’s platonic or romantic.

5. Blue: The Throat Chakra

We know that blue is a cool color — unless, of course, you believe that blue is the warmest color. However, it’s also calming, soothing and healing — just like the ocean.

Think about a vast, still ocean: being by the sea provides a sense of calm and serenity, and puts everything in perspective. For me, it’s incredibly soothing to sit near the ocean, because it reminds me that I’m just a small piece of a much bigger puzzle! This chakra color has a similar meaning: the stillness of the color blue allows you to tune in to your inner being and gives a sense of calmness to the busy mind.


6. Indigo: The Third Eye Chakra

Now, you may be wondering, “What exactly is the third eye chakra?” And that’s a very valid question! In a spiritual sense, the third eye referred to a sense of inner wisdom and knowing; something that you can’t necessarily see, but is there all the same. It is thought that the third eye can see to inner realms of higher consciousness.

So, the fact that Indigo is the color associated with your third eye chakra is not of little significance. Indigo, the deep blue-purple that it is, represents the esoteric, and the intuition. Those who have healthy third eye chakras are at peace with themselves and understand that we have a higher calling in this life.

Indigo represents a connection to the Divine, a deep sense of peace and a connection between the material world and the spiritual one.

7. Violet: The Crown Chakra

As purple is my favorite color, this chakra has a special place in my heart. Violet, the color of your crown chakra, has the shortest wavelength and the highest vibration. It is the color of spirituality and is our connection to heaven

Violet encourages peaceful endings and new beginnings. As the crown chakra is located at the top of our being (in our skull, cerebral cortex, and brain), it references our intellectual being, as well as the way it connects to our body as a whole, and our inner spirit. Violet is a peaceful color, and one of transcendence.

Surrounding yourself with violet, and opening your crown chakra, will give you a sense of wholeness with the universe. When you achieve this level of connection, you realize that there is no separation between you and the world around you; in fact, that we are all one.

For a simple, and extended explanation of chakras, check out this incredible article on the 7 different chakra colors. It tells you everything you need to know about your energy centers. As you’ll learn, each chakra is vibrating at a different frequency and responds to different wavelengths of light. 

Go To Source

Spread the love

Comments are closed.